ASSP Columbia-Willamette Chapter Elections for 2020-2021

Feb 03, 2020

Below is the listing of candidates for the 2020-2021 chapter officer elections. As a member of the ASSP Columbia-Willamette Chapter, you are entitled to vote on the selection of elected officers for the Chapter, voting will open February 24, an email ballot will be sent. Voting will be open until April 3, 2020.

President  (Succeeds to position)
Mark Frisco, CSP




President-Elect (Succeeds to position)
Dede Montgomery, CIH




Vice President
Jimmy Gibbons




Terra Wheeler




Ed Hoeffliger




Rob Dahl




Delegate (chapter is allowed 3, past president plus 2)
Kerry Byun

Kerry Byun is a Principal Safety Engineer for Microchip Technology overseeing safety at the Gresham, Beaverton, and Bend sites. She has 19 years of safety experience working in several industries including engineering, environmental, and construction consulting for CH2M Hill and chemical manufacturing at Fujimi Corporation.Kerry holds the accredited designation of a Certified Safety Professional (CSP) and Certified Hazardous Material Manager (CHMM). Kerry is an authorized OSHA 10 hour and 30-hour trainer and holds her certification as a Radiation Safety Officer. Kerry has been a member of Columbia-Willamette Chapter-ASSP since 2013. Kerry has served on the Columbia-Willamette Chapter ASSP board in 2015 as chapter Treasurer and the Gosh Sponsorship Committee in 2017. In her free time, Kerry enjoys reading books, running long distances, and studying Korean language.Kerry values developing new skills and is currently working on her Certified Safety Management certificate through ASSP’s continual education program.

Delegate (chapter is allowed 3, past president plus 2)
Milt Villegas

Milt has been a member of the ASSP since 1992. He currently serves as one of two Delegate at Large for our Association and is one of the friendly faces that greets you at our Association meetings.

His career includes 35 years in the Fire Service, and he retired six years ago from Tualatin Valley Fire and Rescue.

Currently Milt works part time at OHSU serving as their Fire Safety Manager. He has a Master’s degree in Industrial Safety, is a licensed EMT, and a Type-2 FEMA All Hazard Safety Officer. Milt  would like the opportunity to continue to serve our chapter as a House Delegate.

Delegate (chapter is allowed 3, past president plus 2)
Katelyn Smith

Katelynn has been an ASSP member since 2008 when she began her Industrial Hygiene program at Ohio University. Over the last 12 years she has performed various roles as a student and now young professional member. These roles have ranged from Chapter President and Treasurer during her time attending her degree programs, to supporting our local section as the Development Committee Chair during the 2016-2018 (Co-Chair 17-18) years. Katelynn has also supported the GOSH Conference committee for the 2017 and 2019 Conferences. Volunteering is a passion for Katelynn and she hopes to continue to support ASSP by becoming your next House Delegate for the CWC Chapter.

Katelynn recently took on a new adventure this last July to work for Daimler Trucks North America as the Corporate Industrial Hygienist and holds the CSP and CIH certifications.

Peche Barteaux




Peri Periakaruppan

Peri is a Safety Engineer in Corporate EHS at Intel Corporation. Peri has worked at Intel for 13 years and has performed a number of roles at Intel ranging from Site Industrial Hygienist, Technology Development EHS engineer and currently manages Intel’s global safety awareness campaign. Peri has an undergraduate degree in Environmental Engineering and M.S in Industrial Hygiene from University of Minnesota, Twin Cities. Peri is a Certified Industrial Hygienist and Safety Professional