Chapter News

ASSP Scholarships and Grants-application deadline December 1.

Sep 08, 2018

Since 1990, the ASSP Foundation has awarded more than $3 million in scholarships and professional education grants to students beginning their studies in occupational safety and professionals seeking to continue their education. We offer nearly 150 awards each year ranging from $500 to $15,000 each. More than 1,300 safety students and professionals have advanced their careers, thanks to the generosity of the safety community.

How To Apply

Applications for both scholarships and grants are accepted online from September 1 through December 1 each year. Only a single application must be filled out for either program to be eligible for all available awards. If selected for an award, you will be matched with one based on the criteria set forth by the fund’s donor. Scholarship and grant applicants will be notified in April as to the status of their application. Funds are disbursed shortly afterwards for scholarships, or upon receiving documentation of professional education for grants.


If you have any questions or want to review your eligibility please view the frequently asked questions, or contact the Foundation at or +1 847 699.2929.

ASSP Foundations Scholarships and Grants

Aug 16, 2018

Apply for ASSP Foundations Scholarships Starting Sept. 1

If you are a student enrolled in an occupational safety and health degree program, we encourage you to visit the ASSP Foundation’s Scholarships and Grants web page to find out more about how to apply for funds to support your tuition and expenses.Last year, the Foundation awarded nearly $380,000 in scholarships. Will you join the ranks? Check out the Foundation’s FAQs and download a presentation that shares tips on how to create an award-winning application. You only need to apply once to be considered for the nearly 100 opportunities for funding.Applications will be accepted Sept 1. through Dec. 1, with awards made in April 2019. Don’t miss out on this easy opportunity to further your education. Contact the ASSP Foundation with any questions.

2018-2019 Officers Installed June 29

Jul 02, 2018

The event was held on the Willamette Star.  Approximately 90 were present to witness the event and enjoy the outstanding meal and boat ride on the Willamette River.  New President, Corinna Kupelwieser organized the outing, Outgoing President Illa Gilbert-Jones welcomed attendees and reviewed the Chapter accomplishments for the year, Aubrey Sakaguchi, House Delegate, organized the Silent Auction, and Michael Wood,Oregon OSHA Administrator, officiated the Installation.  Melissa Diede was presented the Safety Professional of the Year and Dave McNiel received the President’s Award.





Wes Lashbrook elected ASSP Practice Specialty Assistant Administrator-Industrial Hygiene

Jun 13, 2018

Congratulations to our own Wesley Lashbrook, MS, CSP, CIH, who has been elected  ASSP Practice Specialty Assistant Administrator – Industrial Hygiene.

Wes has played a significant role for Mount St. Helen’s  Section and Columbia-Willamette Chapter.  He has been a Professional member for 34 years and has been Chapter House Delegate, served on many committees including ByLaws and Development Committee, and was Chapter President.  He has also been very active in the industrial hygiene community and a member the American Industrial Hygiene Association

He is the Senior Partner, Safety Professional and Industrial Hygienist for G.E.W. LLC. He has a M.S. in Environmental Health Management and Adult Education from Oregon State University. He is a Certified Industrial Hygienist (CIH) and Certified Safety Professional (CSP) both in Comprehensive Practice (by examination).

For more than thirty years he has assisted numerous organizations throughout the United States, in both the public and private sector. He managed from inception to commercialization – projects including: interactive risk assessment software; a mass/energy balance for optimizing EHS resources and a comprehensive EHS cost analysis model.

His past and present professional leadership positions and awards include, among many others:

  • Vice Chair and Chairman AIHA National Safety Committee
  • Secretary AIHA National Occupational Environmental Medicine Committee
  • Education Chair, Ptld Area, Pacific NW American Industrial Hygiene Assoc.
  • President, Silicon Forest Safety Professionals
  • Director, Pacific NW Semiconductor Safety Association
  • Industry Chair, Benton County (OR) Hazardous Materials Response Plan
  • Board of Directors of the Silicon Forest Safety Professionals
  • Northwest Liaison – Semiconductor Safety Association

In addition to his other professional duties, Wes spend 43 years as a Reserve officer in the United States Air Force where he enlisting as an Airman Basic and retiring at the rank of Colonel. He is a veteran of both the conflicts in Bosnia and Iraq. He currently assists the USAF as an Academy Liaison officer assisting applicants for the United States Air Force Academy.